This just does not suit me!

This probably is no surprise to anyone who really knows me, but fashion completely baffles me.

I know, I know, it is hard to tell from my pictures. No doubt I impress all with my apparent grasp of haute couture. But don’t be fooled. Any resemblance to fashionable in my clothing is purely a horrible accident. I do understand the occasional need for uniforms and such.  It helps even the playing field a bit, and also helps identify those on your own team. What a mess any decently planned war would be if everyone dressed differently!

It amuses me how many of us react to the simple matter of clothing. Many westerners go up in arms about nations where the Hijab is common for instance. In this day and age of everyone worried about skin cancer, seems to me the Hijab makes perfect sense. Not to mention it is actually cooler in a hot environment. Westerners complain because they think men are dictating what woman should where … the last I checked, many fashion designers are men, so how is it any different? People really do make me laugh at times.

I see a fashion show and think I would pay everything I have to ensure anyone I am with would absolutely NEVER wear that, and they are considered high fashion. Yet I see something that makes someone look comfortable and happy, with colors that suit them, to me the height of beauty, and they are considered sloppily dressed. Someone please ‘splain to me!

But the biggest mystery to me is the whole concept of the corporate uniform … aka the suit. I don’t quite get what it is about someone tying a piece of cloth around their neck in a perfect way to easily strangle that makes it the height of male fashion. Especially when it was ultimately derived from a way to keep the dust out of the nostrils and wipe the sweat off the face. Seems a towel would be much easier … and more comfortable. I personally think suits look absolutely ridiculous … especially on me, but it seems I am a small minority in this belief. It truly boggles my mind!

What's the difference?

… what’s the difference?

Seriously

Seriously …

I wore a suit the other day … maybe the fifth time in as many years. In my perverse way, I figured I would post a picture of it on FB … just to see what kind of reactions I would get. Unsurprisingly, I seem to get roughly three times the compliments that I would get if I had the same face in a T-shirt. I guess this is not all that funny to some folk, but this is my blog and it makes ME laugh, so I am putting it in as a humorous anecdote! :)

But seriously, what is the big deal?

About Taochild

Kind of like a transformer.
Gallery | This entry was posted in The Unknown Ninja Cat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to This just does not suit me!

  1. karim89tipaza says:

    Seriously, I am chuckling because I know a little about you Steve, you are so frank let me applaud that in you, what you said about Hijab really make sense to me.
    You look better in suit I didn’t know you look younger in suit, it’s just my vision :)

    • Taochild says:

      It must be all that fashion brain washing haha! thanks :D

      • karim89tipaza says:

        Yes it is, ahahah
        Steve, why don’t you relate your blogs with Twitter, is there a way to do it? You will get more readers, I mean I would love to see more people reading the amazing articles and thoughts that you publish here :) JUST A THOUGHT :p

      • Taochild says:

        I have a couple of twitter accounts. My primary one is @taochild42. All my posts get tweeted there :)

  2. karim89tipaza says:

    Ok… let me follow you and help you re-tweet all your posts :D

  3. Patricia says:

    Men in suits look handsome and confident and charming. They can be all those things in t-shirts and jeans put somehow a suit puts it all over the top. That being said the men I have loved were t-shirt and jeans kinda guys.

    • Taochild says:

      I have been told that before. But I find it hard to believe I look handsome and confident and charming when I FEEL like a fool haha

  4. Karen says:

    Dude, you see me in my yard with some cut offs and a wifebeater, then you see me in court and say “who the hell is that?” I love mixing it up in court and not wearing the suit. Had a sea foam green lace dress and a pair of heels on the other day on a drab day and a female probation officer summonsed me across the courtroom, while in session, to tell me she loved my dress. I lol’d. I know I have to maintain a certain appearance in court, but who says it can’t be comfortable and fun. I don’t understand fashion either.

    • Taochild says:

      I am glad it is not just me haha

      • karen says:

        Sometimes its ridiculous. I used to have to wear nylons (haven’t put the suckers on in years) in court. It was required. Many courtrooms were not airconditioned and you are sitting there in a suit, blouse and nylons, literally melting. It was disgusting, but you had to do it. I worked in one office where I was not allowed to wear trousers – my first job in a law office. And you had to wear heels. I cut open my leg and had a three inch gash that required stiches, on my calf, and I still had to wear a skirt, nylons and heels. I fought it but was threatened with termination. I lasted three months at that job before I came to the realization that back then the jobs were a dime a dozen and I didn’t have to take that kinda shit. My kids laugh cause I can dress for court in less than 10 minutes cause I have learned to buy cute wash and wear dresses, nice heels and numerous jackets. No prep needed. I haven’t touched an iron in years and I look better than a lot of the other attorneys. But I do have to tell you that when we outfitted my redneck painter husband in a nice Hugo Boss suit for my daughter’s wedding, he looked hot.

      • Taochild says:

        Haha. We are ALL brainwashed :)

Leave a Reply

